State of Nebraska Logo

NEBRASKA EQUAL OPPORTUNITY COMMISSION: Eliminating Discrimination in Nebraska

Laws & Regulations

The NEOC is authorized to enforce the following statutes: Nebraska Fair Employment Practice Act (FEPA); Nebraska Age Discrimination in Employment Act (Age Act); Equal Pay Act; Nebraska Fair Housing Act; and the Act Providing Equal Enjoyment of Public Accommodations. (PA Act)

For a summary of the laws, the text of the law, and the text of the rules and regulations regarding the laws, please click the law you wish to examine further:

Discrimination in employment on the basis of race, color, national origin, religion, sex (including pregnancy), disability, or marital status is prohibited in Nebraska. In general, covered entities include most private and non-profit employers with 15 or more employees, state and local government subdivisions of any size, employment agencies and labor organizations.

Unlawful employment practices generally include discrimination in the area of hiring and promotion (e.g., classification, recruitment, selection); compensation (pay and benefits); discipline (including termination); and other terms, conditions and privileges of employment (e.g., training and development, relationships and associations, accommodation of disabilities and religious beliefs, freedom from workplace harassment).

The FEPA law also contains provisions barring retaliation. Anyone who has opposed any practice made unlawful by the statutes or who has participated in any manner in any proceeding to enforce the statutes is protected.

In addition, if an individual complains about, or refuses to participate in, activity which is unlawful under state or federal laws, and the employer takes negative action, that individual may file with us under the provisions of Section 48-1114(3).

There is a filing deadline. From the date of any alleged harm, the time limit for a FEPA charge is 300 days. Federal filing deadlines may be different. However, if you believe you have been discriminated against, do not wait too long.

Fair Employment Practice Act
Rules and Regulations for the Fair Employment Practice Act
Discrimination in employment on the basis of age is prohibited in Nebraska. In general, covered entities include most private and non-profit employers with 20, or more employees, state and local government subdivisions of any size, employment agencies and labor organizations. Unlawful employment practices generally include discrimination in the area of hiring and promotion (e.g., classification, recruitment, selection); compensation (pay and benefits); discipline (including termination); and other terms, conditions and privileges of employment (e.g., training and development, relationships and associations, freedom from workplace harassment). The Age law also contains provisions barring retaliation. Anyone who has opposed any practice made unlawful by the statutes or who has participated in any manner in any proceeding to enforce the statutes is protected. There is a filing deadline. From the date of any alleged harm, the time limit for a Age charge is 300 days. Federal filing deadlines may be different. However, if you believe you have been discriminated against, do not wait too long.
Nebraska Age Discrimination in Employment Act
Rules and Regulations for the Nebraska Age Discrimination in Employment Act

It is unlawful to discriminate on the basis of sex by paying wages to one sex at a lesser rate than the rate paid to employees of the opposite sex for comparable work on jobs.

The law also contains provisions barring retaliation. Anyone who has opposed any practice made unlawful by the statutes or who has participated in any manner in any proceeding to enforce the statutes is protected.

There is a filing deadline. From the date of any alleged harm, the time limit for a Equal Pay charge is 4 years. Federal filing deadlines may be different. However, if you believe you have been discriminated against, do not wait too long.

Equal Pay Act of Nebraska
Rules and Regulations of the Equal Pay Act of Nebraska

Discrimination in housing on the basis of race, color, national origin, religion, sex, disability or familial status is prohibited in Nebraska. Covered entities generally include residential property owners, property managers, realtors and multiple listing services. However, exemptions exist for dwellings owned or operated by religious organization and bona fide private clubs for non-commercial purposes, housing for older persons, and owner-occupied private homes in which no more than three sleeping rooms are rented.

Unlawful housing practices generally include discrimination in the advertisement, acquisition (showing, negotiating for or transmitting offers for sale or rental), financing, or possession and enjoyment (terms, conditions, privileges) of residential property.

The housing law also contains provisions barring retaliation. Anyone who has opposed any practice made unlawful by the statutes or who has participated in any manner in any proceeding to enforce the statutes is protected.

There is a filing deadline. From the date of any alleged harm, the time limit for a housing charge is 1 year. Federal filing deadlines may be different. However, if you believe you have been discriminated against, do not wait too long.

Nebraska Fair Housing Act
Rules and Regulations for the Nebraska Fair Housing Act
Title 144 Contested cases Rules

Discrimination in the enjoyment of places of public accommodation is prohibited in Nebraska on the basis of race, color, national origin, ancestry, religion, or sex. Covered entities generally include any establishment offering goods and services to the general public. Limited exemptions exist for bona fide private clubs and public accommodations owned or operated by religious organizations.

Unlawful practices generally include actual or attempted refusal, withholding or denial of services, privileges or facilities of public accommodations, and segregation in places of public accommodations.

The law also contains provisions barring retaliation. Anyone who has opposed any practice made unlawful by the statutes or who has participated in any manner in any proceeding to enforce the statutes is protected.

There is a filing deadline. From the date of any alleged harm, the time limit for a Public Accommodations charge is 10 days. If you believe you have been discriminated against, act quickly.

Act Providing Equal Enjoyment of Public Accommodations
Rules and Regulations for the Act Providing Equal Enjoyment of Public Accommodations


We do have copies of all laws and rules and regulations available in booklet form by request.

In order to prevent duplicative proceedings, the NEOC is also authorized, by federal statute, to receive and investigate - concurrently with charges filed under the listed state laws - charges alleging violations of Title VII of the Civil Rights Act of 1964, the Age Discrimination in Employment Act, Title I of the Americans with Disabilities Act, the ADA Amendments Act of 2008, and the U.S. Fair Housing Act.